Texas›Speeding ticket guide›Insurance discount
Will defensive driving lower your insurance in Texas?
Often, but it's your insurer's call. Texas doesn't require a discount, and each company sets its own terms. Anyone promising a guaranteed 10% is quoting a law that ended in 2004.
The catch most people find out too late isn't the course. It's your age. Here's what each major insurer actually publishes.
By Road Ready Safety, TDLR provider CP1234. Not affiliated with any insurer. Insurer terms read from each company's website on September 4, 2026 · Updated October 6, 2026
Do Texas insurers have to give a 10% discount?
No. That rule died when Texas moved auto insurance to "file and use" rating.
"A guaranteed 10% for 3 years"
True under the old benchmark system. S.B. 14 (2003) ended it, and the benchmark era closed in 2004.
"Insurance companies may offer discounts, but no state law or rule mandates discounts or puts a time limit on them."
Texas Insurance Commissioner Cassie Brown, Texas Department of Insurance, February 11, 2025. Some insurers offer it, some don't, and the amount is theirs to set.
A page still promising the mandatory 10% hasn't been updated since 2004. Same tell as a site promising to "remove points": Texas hasn't had points since 2019.
What does your insurer actually offer?
Several big insurers only give it above a certain age. Pick yours to see what it publishes, word for word. Where it publishes nothing, we say so.
GEICO
Age condition
At least 50 years old
Published amount
Up to 10% on applicable coverages
Court-ordered course
Excluded
GEICO requires the course be completed “on a voluntary basis (not as a result of an order of a court or other governmental entity).” A course you took to dismiss a ticket won’t count here.
Read GEICO's own page →State Farm
Age condition
None published
Published amount
Not published
Court-ordered course
Not stated
Confirms a course-based discount exists in some form, but leaves terms to an agent. Ask yours for the number.
Read State Farm's own page →Progressive
Age condition
None published
Published amount
Not published
Court-ordered course
Not stated
Confirms a course-based discount exists in some form, but leaves terms to an agent. Ask yours for the number.
Read Progressive's own page →Allstate
Age condition
None published
Published amount
Not published
Court-ordered course
Not stated
Confirms a course-based discount exists in some form, but leaves terms to an agent. Ask yours for the number.
Read Allstate's own page →Farmers
Age condition
Over 55
Published amount
Not published
Court-ordered course
Not stated
Farmers publishes “over age 55.” If you’re younger, the discount may not apply to your policy.
Read Farmers's own page →Nationwide
Age condition
May require 55 or over
Published amount
Not published
Court-ordered course
Not stated
Nationwide notes “you may have to be 55 or over.” Check with your agent before you enroll.
Read Nationwide's own page →Liberty Mutual
Age condition
None published
Published amount
Not published
Court-ordered course
Not stated
Confirms a course-based discount exists in some form, but leaves terms to an agent. Ask yours for the number.
Read Liberty Mutual's own page →USAA
Age condition
None published
Published amount
Not published
Court-ordered course
Not stated
Confirms a course-based discount exists in some form, but leaves terms to an agent. Ask yours for the number.
Read USAA's own page →| Insurer | Age condition | Published amount | Court-ordered course |
|---|---|---|---|
| GEICO | At least 50 years old | Up to 10% on applicable coverages | Excluded |
| State Farm | None published | Not published | Not stated |
| Progressive | None published | Not published | Not stated |
| Allstate | None published | Not published | Not stated |
| Farmers | Over 55 | Not published | Not stated |
| Nationwide | May require 55 or over | Not published | Not stated |
| Liberty Mutual | None published | Not published | Not stated |
| USAA | None published | Not published | Not stated |
Read from each insurer's own website on September 4, 2026. Road Ready Safety is not affiliated with or endorsed by any insurer listed. Terms change without notice, so confirm with your agent.
What is it worth to you?
Your numbers, your assumptions. We don't guess your discount, because nobody honestly can.
Dismissing costs $1,328 less than a conviction.
Arithmetic on your numbers, not a quote. Your insurer sets its own terms.
How do you claim the discount?
Five minutes on the phone first. It beats six hours on a maybe. Ask your agent:
Then take the course and send the insurance copy. With us, both copies download the moment you finish.
Got a ticket? Can one course do both?
Sometimes. And even when your ticket can't be dismissed, the discount door can still be open.
The dismissal is the bigger prize
A conviction can raise your premium for about three years. Dismissing it keeps it off your record. How dismissal works
The discount may stack, or not
GEICO excludes court-ordered courses in writing. Most others don't say. Ask before you assume both.
Can't dismiss your ticket?
CDL holders, 25+ over, or a second ticket within 12 months can still take the course for the discount.
What does Road Ready Safety charge?
$25, and that's the only number you'll see at checkout.
- The 6-hour TDLR-approved course (CP1234) Verify on TDLR ↗
- Certificate the moment you finish, court and insurance copies
- Unlimited quiz retakes
- No delivery, rush or record fees
- Full refund if you request it before you complete the course or get your certificate
- Two costs we can't include: the court's fee and the DPS record, because the court and DPS collect those. Our full pricing policy
Quick answers
Does defensive driving lower car insurance in Texas?
Often, but it’s up to the insurer. Typical discounts are a few percent for about three years. Only your insurer’s quote counts.
Is there an age requirement?
At several big insurers, yes. Farmers publishes “over age 55,” Nationwide “you may have to be 55 or over,” and GEICO requires at least 50.
Can I take the course just for the discount?
Yes. TDLR recognizes the same 6-hour course for “ticket dismissal or insurance discounts.” No ticket or court needed.
Does a course taken for a ticket also count?
Sometimes. GEICO requires the course be taken “on a voluntary basis,” which excludes court-ordered ones. Others don’t say, so ask.
Does Texas require insurers to give a defensive driving discount?
No. The Texas Department of Insurance said in February 2025 that companies may offer discounts, but no state law or rule mandates them. The old 10% rule ended when Texas moved to file-and-use rating in 2003–2004; each insurer now sets its own terms.
Where to go from here
Get it dismissed first →New to the course?
What it is and how it works →What a ticket really costs
Fines plus 3 years of premium →Comparing courses?
How to pick one →
Road Ready Safety is a TDLR-licensed Texas driving safety provider (CP1234). Informational, not insurance advice. Discount availability, size and terms are set solely by your insurer. Last updated October 6, 2026. Sources: Texas Department of Insurance consumer guidance; S.B. 14 (2003); TDLR course-use guidance; each insurer's own website, read September 4, 2026. Typical ranges are industry practice, not state requirements.