Best North Dakota defensive driving course 2026: all 22 NDDOT courses compared
By Road Ready Safety · Last reviewed by Road Ready Safety, against the Century Code and NDDOT’s pages
Short answer
NDDOT's list has 22 approved courses and no prices, so we checked every provider's own site. The short answer: every approved course takes off the same 3 points, so pick on price and how fast you get the certificate. On October 28 and 29, 2026 the cheapest was $5.00, most online courses cost $18.95 to $30.00, and the North Dakota Safety Council charges $49.00 to $95.00. Road Ready Safety is $24.99, with the certificate ready the moment you pass. Prices change. Confirm at checkout.
- Courses on NDDOT's list
- 22 (checked October 29, 2026)
- Cheapest
- $5.00
- Most online courses
- $18.95 to $30.00
- Points off
- 3, once every 12 months
- Our course
- $24.99, 4 hours, NDDOT-approved for point reduction
NDDOT's list of approved defensive driving courses has 22 names on it and not a single price. So we opened every provider's own site on October 28 and 29, 2026 and went to the last screen before payment. The cheapest is $5.00. The most expensive online course is $39.95, and the North Dakota Safety Council charges up to $95.00. Every one of them takes off the same 3 points.
So why pay more than $5.00? Sometimes you shouldn't. But the listed price isn't always what you pay: one course listed at $19.95 can't be finished for less than $24.95, and the same 5-hour course costs $59 or $80 at one provider, depending on who sent you. Here's how to pick in two minutes. Then all 22, side by side.
How to choose: the 4 things that matter
- It's on NDDOT's list. NDDOT only takes points off for a course "approved by the director" (NDCC 39-06.1-13). A course sold as defensive driving that isn't on the list won't change your record.
- The all-in price. Compare what you pay on the last checkout screen. A few providers charge for mailing, faster delivery or extras like audio, and one requires a paid delivery option, so its listed price isn't what you pay.
- How you get the certificate. North Dakota has no provider reporting system, so most drivers email the certificate to NDDOT themselves at drs@nd.gov. An instant download means you can send it today. Some providers mail it, which takes 5 to 10 business days.
- Your deadline. If you elected the course at court when you posted bond, NDDOT needs your certificate within 30 days of that election (NDCC 39-06.1-10.1). A mailed certificate or a classroom date weeks away may not make it.
Price has nothing to do with how many points come off. NDDOT doesn't grade courses: any approved course takes off 3 points, once every 12 months, up to 9 in three years. That makes the choice simpler than 22 names suggests.
Rules clear? Then here's the best course for each situation.
Best North Dakota defensive driving courses, by need
- Our pick (we run it): Road Ready Safety, $24.99 all-in, NDDOT-approved for point reduction. Certificate ready to download the moment you pass. Full refund if you ask before you finish.
- Lowest price: 5 Dollar Traffic School, $5.00. The certificate is a free instant PDF. Audio and a printout are paid extras whose prices aren't shown before you sign up.
- Other low-cost online picks: Defensive Driving Institute ($18.95, instant download), 1stDrive ($19.19) and Driving School of America ($19.95). 1 Stop Defensive Driving lists $19.95, but a required $5.00 delivery makes it $24.95.
- Want audio: North Dakota defensive driving course with audio, $29.98 with autoplay. Defensive Driving Institute ($18.95), DriveSafeToday ($24.95), DriveSafe Online ($24.95, narrated video) and Pass Fast With AI ($25.00) include it in the base price.
- AARP members: AARP's course is $27.00 for members and $30.00 for everyone else.
- Classroom or live online: the North Dakota Safety Council in Bismarck, Fargo and Minot ($60.00 to $85.00 classroom, $75.00 to $95.00 live online, $49.00 to $80.00 online), or TrainND Northwest in Williston.
- Want an insurance premium reduction instead? That's a different course, approved by the Highway Patrol, not NDDOT. See our insurance premium reduction course.
Same result from all 22. So what does each one really cost, and when is the certificate in your hands?
All 22 courses, cheapest first (October 28 and 29, 2026)
Our North Dakota defensive driving course online is on NDDOT's list as "1-3 Point Dismissal Defensive Driving Course by Road Ready Safety." Names below are as NDDOT lists them. "What you pay" is the lowest total, including any required fee, read on the provider's own site or checkout without buying.
| Course (as NDDOT names it) | What you pay | How you get the certificate | Format | Extra fees we found |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 Dollar Traffic School | $5.00 | Instant PDF, emailed to NDDOT for you | Online | Audio, printout and record form are paid extras, prices not shown |
| 0-Point Defensive Driving by Defensive Driving Institute | $18.95 | Instant download | Online, read-aloud included | None |
| #01-1stDrive | $19.19 | Not stated | Online | Fees "may apply" at registration, none listed for ND |
| Driving School of America | $19.95 | Instant download | Online | None found |
| 1 Stop Defensive Driving | $24.95 ($19.95 plus a required $5.00 delivery) | Mail or electronic, $5.00 either way | Online | Optional same-day processing $10.00, read-along $4.99, unlimited exam attempts $9.95 |
| DriveSafe Online ® Defensive Driving Course | $24.95 | Online, narrated video | None found | |
| 4 Hour Point Reduction Course by DriveSafeToday | $24.95 | Instant download | Online, audio included | Mailed copy costs extra |
| #1 Defensive Driving Course | $24.98 | Instant download | Online | None found |
| 1-3 Point Dismissal Defensive Driving Course by Road Ready Safety | $24.99 | Download the moment you pass | Online, 4 hours; audio option | None |
| AAA ND Roadwise Driver | $25.00 | Not stated | Online | None shown |
| Pass Fast With AI | $25.00 | Instant download, emailed to NDDOT for you | Online, audio included | None |
| AARP Driver Safety Program | $27.00 members, $30.00 others | Download | Online | None |
| Safe2Drive | $27.95 | Online | None found | |
| Traffic School Online | $29.97 | Instant | Online | Refund fee after 30 days |
| Safe Streets Academy | $30.00 | Emailed to NDDOT for you | Online | None found |
| North Dakota Driver Safety Program (Traffic Safety Consultants, Inc.) | $35.00 ($30.00 with its posted code) | Mailed, 5 to 10 business days | Online | Email or rush delivery costs extra, amount not shown |
| Driving University | $35.00 | Mailed first class | Online | $55.00 for next-day delivery |
| National Traffic Safety Institute (Safe New Attitude Program) | $39.95 | You print it | Online, for ages 16 to 25 | None |
| North Dakota Safety Council | $49.00 to $95.00 | Not stated | Online (5 hours), classroom or live online | $10.00 lost certificate; online courses non-refundable |
| Alive at 25 | Classroom $65.00 ($85.00 court-referred); live online $80.00 ($95.00 court or DOT referred) | Not stated | Classroom 4 hours or live online 4.5 hours, under 25 | $10.00 lost certificate |
| NSC | Price not found (NDDOT's list links only the organization's home page) | Not stated | Online | Couldn't check |
| T.H.I.N.K. Defensive Driving by TrainND Northwest | Not listed in its current catalog | Classroom, Williston | Couldn't check |
Prices were read on each provider's own site or checkout page on October 28 and 29, 2026, without buying, and we stopped before entering any card. Where a site needed an account before showing a total, we show the price it states publicly. NDSC prices depend on the format, whether you're a member, and whether a court or NDDOT sent you. Prices change. Confirm at checkout. Found one that's out of date? Tell us and we'll check it.
The table shows the totals. Here's why a listed price and a real price can differ, and the one question that sorts it out.
Why a listed price and a real price differ
For most of these providers the price is the price. The differences show up in five places:
- A required delivery fee. 1 Stop Defensive Driving is listed at $19.95, but you have to pick a delivery method, and the cheapest is $5.00. That's the course from the opening: $24.95 is the lowest real total.
- Mailing and faster delivery. Traffic Safety Consultants mails the certificate unless you pay extra. Driving University mails it first class and charges $55.00 for next-day delivery.
- Add-ons. 5 Dollar Traffic School sells audio, a printout and a driving-record form after you sign up, with no public price.
- "Was" prices and countdowns. #1 Defensive Driving Course shows "$40.00" crossed out. DriveSafeToday shows "$50.00" crossed out with a countdown clock. The prices are $24.98 and $24.95.
- Who sent you. The North Dakota Safety Council charges $15.00 to $31.00 more, depending on the format, when a court or NDDOT requires the course, and Alive at 25 is $85.00 instead of $65.00 in the classroom if you're court-referred.
- Refunds and replacements. NDSC's online courses are non-refundable, and a lost NDSC certificate costs $10.00 to replace.
If you elected the course in lieu of points, NDDOT needs your certificate within 30 days. The one question to ask any provider: "When I pass, can I send my certificate to NDDOT today, at the price on this screen?"
That's how we answer the question ourselves.
What you get with Road Ready Safety
We're not the cheapest course on NDDOT's list, and we won't pretend to be. Four courses cost at least $5 less, and four more are a few cents less. Here's everything in $24.99:
- One price, nothing added. No certificate fee, no processing fee, no delivery fee.
- Your certificate the moment you pass, ready to email to drs@nd.gov the same day, which matters on a 30-day deadline.
- 4 hours at your own pace on phone, tablet or computer. Your progress saves.
- Optional audio, $29.98 total, with autoplay that pauses only for quizzes.
- Full refund if you ask before you finish.
- NDDOT-approved for point reduction, with real people on the phone if you get stuck.
If another approved course fits better, say you want a classroom in Fargo or the $5 course, use it. Every NDDOT-approved course takes off the same 3 points.
Not sure how many points you have? Check your points first.
How many hours does an NDDOT course have to be?
NDDOT doesn't set a number. Its points page states no minimum, and neither does its Driver Refresher Courses page. NDCC 39-06.1-13 only requires "a driver training course approved by the director." The one hour figure on NDDOT's list is part of a provider's name.
Most providers that state a length say 4 hours. Several don't state one at all.
Is there a 5-hour course?
Yes, one. The North Dakota Safety Council sells a 5-hour self-paced online course at $49 to $80. That is NDSC's product, not an NDDOT category. NDDOT takes off 3 points either way.
NDSC's online page warns that most courts "mandate classroom attendance" for students a court has ordered to take a course. If a judge ordered yours, ask that court which formats it accepts before you pay.
Is there an 8-hour course?
Not on NDDOT's list. North Dakota doesn't require 8 hours for point reduction, and no listed provider sells an 8-hour course as its NDDOT course. People search for one because other states require 8 hours for some courses. If a court or an employer told you 8 hours, that is their requirement, so ask them which course they accept.
Point reduction or insurance premium reduction?
A different list, kept by a different agency. NDCC 26.1-25-04.1 requires insurers to reduce premiums for at least two years (three years for drivers 55 and older) after an accident prevention course "approved by the superintendent of the state highway patrol." The statute sets no percentage.
The Highway Patrol publishes online and classroom lists, approved through August 31, 2027 unless noted. Some providers are on both lists, some on only one. Our point reduction course is not on the Highway Patrol's list; our separate insurance premium reduction course is. More on insurance. Not sure which you need? Points off or a lower premium: which course fits.
Who shouldn't buy any course?
- A driver whose only ticket carries no points. Up to 10 mph over where the limit is 65 or less is 0 points, and so is up to 5 over where the limit is above 65 (NDCC 39-06.1-10).
- A driver with one point. It comes off by itself after three months without new points (NDCC 39-06.1-13).
- A driver with no points on the record. The 3 points come "solely from a point total accumulated before completion," so a course can't bank a credit.
- A driver who has already had 9 points taken off by courses in the current three-year period, which is the cap in 39-06.1-13.
- A driver who elected a course in lieu of points. That election "forfeits any point reduction option" under 39-06.1-13 (NDCC 39-06.1-10.1).
Last reviewed October 28, 2026 against NDCC chapter 39-06.1, NDDOT's points reduction page and each provider's own site.
This guide is part of North Dakota driver's license points: the point system and how to remove points. If you need the points off, North Dakota defensive driving course is 4 hours online for $24.99.
Quick answers
How much is a defensive driving course in North Dakota?
On October 28 and 29, 2026, NDDOT-approved courses cost $5.00 to $95.00. Most online courses were $18.95 to $30.00, and the North Dakota Safety Council charges $49.00 to $95.00 depending on format and membership. Road Ready Safety is $24.99, certificate included.
What is the cheapest NDDOT-approved defensive driving course?
5 Dollar Traffic School, at $5.00 with a free downloadable certificate, on October 28 and 29, 2026. Next were Defensive Driving Institute ($18.95), 1stDrive ($19.19) and Driving School of America ($19.95).
How long is a point reduction class in North Dakota?
NDDOT doesn't set a minimum. Most online courses, including ours, are 4 hours. The North Dakota Safety Council also sells a 5-hour self-paced online course.
Does a $5 course take off the same points as a $40 one?
Yes. NDDOT doesn't grade courses. Any approved course takes 3 points off once every 12 months, and NDCC 39-06.1-13 caps the total at 9 points in three years.
Is the North Dakota Safety Council course the only one NDDOT accepts?
No. NDSC is one of 22 courses on NDDOT's list. It is the only one on the list with classrooms in Bismarck, Fargo and Minot.
Will NDDOT accept a course that isn't approved?
No. The reduction in NDCC 39-06.1-13 is for a course "approved by the director." A course sold as defensive driving but not approved by NDDOT won't change your points.
Does NDDOT's list show which courses also count for insurance?
No. NDDOT's list is for points only. The Highway Patrol keeps the insurance premium reduction lists, and several providers on NDDOT's list are not on them.
How often can I take a defensive driving course in North Dakota?
Once every 12 months for the 3 points, up to 9 points in three years. The points come off only from points already on your record when you finish.
Is Road Ready Safety's course NDDOT-approved?
Yes. NDDOT lists it as "1-3 Point Dismissal Defensive Driving Course by Road Ready Safety." It takes off the standard 3 points, once every 12 months.
Is there an online North Dakota defensive driving course with audio?
Yes. Road Ready Safety with audio and autoplay is $29.98. Defensive Driving Institute, DriveSafeToday and Pass Fast With AI also include audio.
Sources
- NDDOT: Driver License Points Reduction and Points Schedule
- North Dakota Century Code 39-06.1-13: reduction of point total
- North Dakota Century Code 39-06.1-10.1: driver training course in lieu of points
- North Dakota Century Code 39-06.1-10: point schedule and suspension
- NDDOT: Driver Refresher Courses
- North Dakota Century Code 26.1-25-04.1: premium reduction for accident prevention course
- North Dakota Highway Patrol: Insurance Premium Reduction Online Courses
- North Dakota Highway Patrol: Insurance Premium Reduction Classroom Courses
- North Dakota Safety Council: Defensive Driving Course Online
- North Dakota Safety Council: Defensive Driving Course 4-Hour
We read each source on October 29, 2026. This guide is general information, not legal advice. NDDOT applies any point reduction, and your court handles an election in lieu of points. See a mistake? Email info@roadreadysafety.com.
More North Dakota guides
- Is there a free defensive driving course in North Dakota?
- How long is the North Dakota defensive driving course?
- Does a defensive driving course lower your insurance in North Dakota?
- How to send your defensive driving certificate to NDDOT